Carb-less Meals: Spaghetti Squash

4 Jun

I walked into a co-worker’s office during lunch and smelled something delicious. Laura told me that she made spaghetti squash with tomato sauce, ground turkey, onions and a little greek yogurt. Hmmm…the wheels started turning.

I decided to put my own twist on it by attempting to make a ground turkey and chicken sausage bolognese. I kept my fingers crossed that I would enjoy the spaghetti squash because I heard that it was a little sweet, had a bit of a bite to it and it’s obviously not pasta.

Result, YUM! Pasta who?

20130602-211610.jpg

I first rinsed and cut the squash in half. Then I used a spoon to scoop out and discard the seeds. Next, I rubbed the insides with olive oil and sprinkled it with salt and pepper.

20130602-211839.jpg

Then put it face down on a foil lined pan and roasted it in the oven at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.

20130602-212035.jpg

While waiting for the squash to roast, I started my bolognese. I first like to sweat my chopped onion, garlic and spices in olive oil. My spice blend included oregano, basil, red pepper flakes and lemon pepper.

20130602-214237.jpg

I added the ground turkey meat and chicken sausage, which I took out of the casing. It cooks pretty quickly but note that the ground turkey produces a lot of liquid. Once it is all browned I set it aside in a bowl.

20130602-214453.jpg

Then I deglazed the pan with a little white wine and let it come to a slow simmer.

20130602-214603.jpg

At this point I added a big can of San Marzano crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, and added the meat back into the sauce.

20130602-214741.jpg

Here comes the “change your life” moment…plain green yogurt! It gives the sauce great depth of flavor and mellows out the acidity of the tomatoes.

20130602-214952.jpg

Voilà!

20130602-215448.jpg

I let my sauce continue to simmer while I pulled out the squash. If you put a knife through the middle it should slide out easily. Once the squash was cool enough to handle I flipped both halves over and used a fork to scrape out the “spaghetti.”

20130602-220236.jpg

Scraped clean!

20130602-220534.jpg

Mix the sauce together with the squash and add a little parmesan.

Leave a Reply

