Pancakes…with Vinegar?!

11 May

Pancakes are by far my favorite sweet breakfast food. I am always on the hunt for a perfectly cooked, fluffy, buttery pancake and have found some great ones (Buttermilk Channel in Brooklyn or Prune on the LES) but haven’t been able to replicate it at home…until today.

I woke up craving pancakes and went on the hunt for a recipe from scratch. The recipe that I found “sours” the milk with white vinegar (sounds strange but works!). Soured, not spoiled milk is more acidic, adds more flavor and great texture. I doubled the recipe and added vanilla extract. Result, best I’ve ever made!

You can find the recipe here.

20130511-140556.jpg

Leave a Reply

